Author Topic: Plan G 0.8 with Two Computer  (Read 1969 times)

Offline Coco

  • Pathfinder
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Plan G 0.8 with Two Computer
« on: November 05, 2009, 03:19:31 PM »
HI

How to use Plan G 0.8 on two computers
Best reguards
Coco

Offline jschall

  • Master Navigator
  • *****
  • Posts: 330
  • Country: ca
  • Plan-G Addict
    • View Profile
Re: Plan G 0.8 with Two Computer
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2009, 04:28:00 PM »
Welcome aboard, Coco!

Tell us about your setup:
- FSX or FS9?
- If FSX, SP1, SP2 or Acceleration?
What version of Windows on each PC?
Do you have FSUIPC? (it's not required)
How are the two PCs connected? Can you access files on each PC from the other PC (In other words, is Windows File Sharing set up and working on the two PCs?)

- Jeff Schallenberg
Mont Saint-Hilaire, Québec

« Last Edit: November 05, 2009, 04:32:08 PM by jschall »
FSX SP2, Windows 7, AMD FX-62, Nvidia GTX550ti

Offline ffisher67

  • Tracker
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Plan G 0.8 with Two Computer
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2009, 09:45:16 PM »
I to have the same problem.

PC1 main WinVista 64 SP1/FSX SP2 FS9.
PC2 secondary WinVista 32 FSCommander.
Latest WideFS and FSUIPC.
Network working 2 way. with shares on both sims and sim file folders
Plan-G working on PC1 with dual screen.
Installed Plan-G on PC2, it does not reconise PC1.

The 2 database are greyed out. Unable to run.

Frank

Offline vh-ugw

  • Pathfinder
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Plan G 0.8 with Two Computer
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2009, 09:54:42 PM »
I use simconnect without a problem for Plan-G and the REX weather engine on a laptop connected to my LAN.
Regards,

Greg


Offline tim arnot

  • Administrator
  • Master Navigator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
  • Country: england
    • View Profile
Re: Plan G 0.8 with Two Computer
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2009, 10:31:55 PM »
You can specify where FS9 and FSX are in the Options dialog (Locations tab). It does require that the scenery library paths "work" from the second PC (ie if the scenery is installed in E:\MyScenery" on PC1, from PC2, E:\MyScenery needs to be mapped to the same place.). You might find it easier to install onto PC1 and build the databases there, and then copy the whole thing across to PC 2 (it doesn't install anything outside its own directory).

Connecting  remotely to FSX will require you to edit Simconnect.xml on the FS PC, and match the settings in the Plan-G options dialog. For FS9, you need to configure WideFS

Tim. @TimArnot

Offline ffisher67

  • Tracker
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Plan G 0.8 with Two Computer
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2009, 10:49:31 PM »
Tim
I tried copying to PC2, does not work, the databases are greyed out.
And what is that options dialog, I don't see it.

Frank

Offline tim arnot

  • Administrator
  • Master Navigator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
  • Country: england
    • View Profile
Re: Plan G 0.8 with Two Computer
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2009, 11:09:41 PM »
What did you copy? Did you copy the whole folder (*AFTER* building the databases), or just some files?

The buttons are only activated when you've built the appropriate database.

Since the only way of installing Plan-G is to copy the files, this method 100% definitely works (I do it many times in the course of testing.)

To get to the options dialog, click on the Aeroplane button (top left)

Tim. @TimArnot