Author Topic: Large amount of memory used  (Read 1597 times)

Offline accesso1

  • Pathfinder
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Large amount of memory used
« on: May 22, 2013, 08:14:02 PM »
Hi,
I would like to know if it's normal that plan-g (3.0.4.59) after few minutes, uses more than 1Gb of RAM. This is only when I connect it to FSX.
In this situation I can only kill plan-g task and open it again until it freeze again when the memory reach 1Gb used.
I use XP SP3 and FSX sp2.
Could you help me ?
Tks
Igor

Offline tim arnot

  • Administrator
  • Master Navigator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
  • Country: england
    • View Profile
Re: Large amount of memory used
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2013, 08:42:19 PM »
What settings do you have? Zoom, location, overlays, traffic (how much, how frequently is it updated) etc etc. You give very little info for me to go on. Please also attach your log file.

Tim. @TimArnot

Offline accesso1

  • Pathfinder
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Large amount of memory used
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2013, 07:24:44 PM »
Hi Tim,
here same info:
-Zoom9 > 20Nm
-Location is different. The problem appears everywhere
-MapQuest OSM
-Range traffic 50 Nm updated every 15 sec
-No weather enabled
-My aircraft updated every 5 sec.
-SimConnect or Fsuipc presents same pb

Tks
IGOR

Offline tim arnot

  • Administrator
  • Master Navigator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
  • Country: england
    • View Profile
Re: Large amount of memory used
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2013, 06:29:40 AM »
Do you have traffic trails on or off?

Try turning off different overlays (traffic, airspace etc) Does it only happen if you connect to FS...

Tim. @TimArnot

Offline CamKrist

  • Pathfinder
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: 00
    • View Profile
Re: Large amount of memory used
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2013, 09:40:18 AM »
Similar matter has already been discussed at yahoo answers. I can post the link if needed
I'm on Twitter and my essay

Offline accesso1

  • Pathfinder
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Large amount of memory used
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2013, 09:54:26 AM »
Maybe I've found the reason of the problem.
In menu File > Option > User Aircraft if I enable "Update TAS from FS" I get the problem after few minutes and plan-g freeze. If I disabled it, everything works fine.

Offline accesso1

  • Pathfinder
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Large amount of memory used
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2013, 09:55:45 AM »
Similar matter has already been discussed at yahoo answers. I can post the link if needed

Hi,
if you post it, I read it too.
Tks

Igor

Offline tim arnot

  • Administrator
  • Master Navigator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
  • Country: england
    • View Profile
Re: Large amount of memory used
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2013, 07:51:12 PM »
There must be something more to it than that - I spent several hours trying this afternoon, and couldn't achieve a memory leak, or more memory used than about 170M.

Tim. @TimArnot

Offline accesso1

  • Pathfinder
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Large amount of memory used
« Reply #8 on: May 26, 2013, 08:43:40 PM »
Hi Tim,

I don't know why but in my environment that check cause plan-g to freeze for memory leak. I suppose usual Windows "mystery".   ;D
I think I survive without TAS check.  ;)
This afternoon I have flown also several hour on Vatsim and Ivao without pb.
Btw tks for your time !!

Ciao
IGOR