Author Topic: New KORD Scenery in Plan-G--not working  (Read 3055 times)

Offline jstockton267

  • Pathfinder
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
New KORD Scenery in Plan-G--not working
« on: July 08, 2015, 07:14:52 AM »
I have updated my KORD FSX scenery to include the lastest runway addition and name change, along with updated frequenceis, airport parking etc. Everything shows up nicely in FSX--the new runway 10C, its ILS, it all on the GPS, etc.

When I try to update my Plan-G FSX database to include these changes. so that I get ILS feathers for the new runways configuration, well, I can't do it. In "Settings" I have the correct loaction of the Scenery.cfg (..All Users\Application Data\Microsoft\FSX). The new Scenery consists of 3 files--2 placed in \Addon Scenery\KORD\Scenery, and 1 placed in \Scenery\Global\Scenery. I have even added these 2 locations to the "Additional Scenery Locations" (not sure if that was needed since the KORD is in Scenery.cfg), and still nothing changed in Plan-G to show the new runway. In the Log File nothing seems to happen when it is scanning the KORD folder (I was expecting it to find new data)

What is happening? How do I get the new data into Plan-G

And also, what is the meaning of a red (vs. green) ILS feather?

Running Win XP, Plan-G 3.1.2.101-xp
« Last Edit: July 08, 2015, 07:18:50 AM by jstockton267 »

Offline tim arnot

  • Administrator
  • Master Navigator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
  • Country: england
    • View Profile
Re: New KORD Scenery in Plan-G--not working
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2015, 01:47:00 PM »
Try building it with the 3.1.3 beta (it's in the X-Plane thread stickied at the top of this forum). There are some db build fixes for bgl files that Plan-G didn't previously look at.

Red feathers mean the ILS is LOC-only, i.e. there's no G/S.

Tim. @TimArnot

Offline jstockton267

  • Pathfinder
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: New KORD Scenery in Plan-G--not working
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2015, 12:57:14 AM »
But I see that 3.1.3 is for Win7, not Win XP.

I am using Win XP, so how can this help me?

Offline tim arnot

  • Administrator
  • Master Navigator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
  • Country: england
    • View Profile
Re: New KORD Scenery in Plan-G--not working
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2015, 11:00:15 PM »
Okay, in that case you'll need to wait for the final release.

Tim. @TimArnot

Offline bill721

  • Tracker
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: New KORD Scenery in Plan-G--not working
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2015, 07:15:57 PM »
Hey Tom, I'm having the same issue with an updated version of KORD not updating runway and airport map information info in Plan-G.  Everything looks fine in FSX. 

I loaded the Plan-G3 beta version 3.1.3.113 and rebuilt the data base but it still isn't updating Plan-G for some reason.  Let me know if you need anything from me.  Is there a naming convention I need to abide by for naming my files in FSX? 

Let me know...

Thanks,
Bill

Offline tim arnot

  • Administrator
  • Master Navigator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
  • Country: england
    • View Profile
Re: New KORD Scenery in Plan-G--not working
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2015, 02:27:54 PM »
Please attach the log file showing the database build, thanks.

Tim. @TimArnot

Offline bill721

  • Tracker
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: New KORD Scenery in Plan-G--not working
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2015, 04:16:22 PM »
Tom, I think this is the file you requested.  I also add the .bgl file for Kord I added into the FSX addon scenery folder adding / updating the runways.

Thanks for the help
Bill
« Last Edit: August 19, 2015, 06:48:36 PM by tim arnot »

Offline tim arnot

  • Administrator
  • Master Navigator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
  • Country: england
    • View Profile
Re: New KORD Scenery in Plan-G--not working
« Reply #7 on: August 19, 2015, 06:47:52 PM »
Addon Scenery, or Addon Scenery\Scenery?

The log you attached was basically empty - it just shows Plan-G being started. If you wouldn't mind doing a database build an then sending it? Ta :)

BTW, I've removed the bgls from your post - we don't want everyone downloading them, eh?

Tim. @TimArnot

Offline bill721

  • Tracker
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: New KORD Scenery in Plan-G--not working
« Reply #8 on: August 19, 2015, 07:12:44 PM »
Tom here's the string to the KORD.bgl files
C:\FSX\Addon Scenery\KORD_RS\scenery

I uploaded the latest log after building the FSX database.

Thanks
Bill

Offline bill721

  • Tracker
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: New KORD Scenery in Plan-G--not working
« Reply #9 on: August 19, 2015, 07:33:15 PM »
Tom, I looked at the file dump and don't see where it looked at any on the addon folders listed in the addon scenery except for the files in the scenery\scenery.  I set a picture of the file structure of the addon folder.  Hope it helps.

I did try moving the kord folder into the scenery folder it read and it still didn't show the changes....fyi

Offline bill721

  • Tracker
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: New KORD Scenery in Plan-G--not working
« Reply #10 on: August 19, 2015, 07:55:11 PM »
I moved only the kord .bgl  files to the addon\scenery\scenery folder and it looks like it fixed the issue.  The updated information is in Plan-G now.  I'll try moving the other files out of the folders and see what happens.

Bill

Update:
Tom it looks like that fixed it.  I checked a couple of the addon sceneries I had and it loaded them fine.  There are two ways to add scenery to FSX.  One is the folder approach and the other is simply putting the .bgl files in the scenery folder without folders.  It looks like in my case the folder approach doesn't work with Plan-G.  Let me know if that is as designed or not.  Also if designed that way are you considering making it work using the folder addon option also?  If you need anything else from me let me know...

Thank you as always for the quick reply and your program.....  I love it.

Bill
« Last Edit: August 19, 2015, 08:38:36 PM by bill721 »

Offline tim arnot

  • Administrator
  • Master Navigator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
  • Country: england
    • View Profile
Re: New KORD Scenery in Plan-G--not working
« Reply #11 on: August 20, 2015, 02:02:57 PM »
Glad you got it working. Still wondering who Tom is, though . . . ;)

Tim. @TimArnot

Offline bill721

  • Tracker
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: New KORD Scenery in Plan-G--not working
« Reply #12 on: August 20, 2015, 02:51:48 PM »
 :)  Sorry Tim.  That's what happens when we get old...   :D

Should Plan-G see the new .bgl files in the scenery folder when they were in individual folders in the addon scenery area?

Thanks
Bill

Offline tim arnot

  • Administrator
  • Master Navigator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
  • Country: england
    • View Profile
Re: New KORD Scenery in Plan-G--not working
« Reply #13 on: August 20, 2015, 03:13:34 PM »
Only if the folder is in the scenery.cfg, and the files are in a \scenery folder.

Tim. @TimArnot